Top 10 Movies of 2008

2008 was an average year for movies. There’s really not much else to say about it. So I’ll just get to my list of the 10 best movies!

10.  Vicky Cristina Barcelona  (3.5 stars)

9.  Nights In Rodanthe  (3.5 stars)

8.  Revolutionary Road  (3.5 stars)

7.  21  (3.5 stars)

6.  Appaloosa  (4 stars)

5.  Doubt  (4 stars)

4.  Gran Torino  (4 stars)

3.  The Visitor  (4 stars)

2.  Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull  (4.5 stars)

1.  Jumper  (5 stars)

Jumper might seem like an odd choice for my #1 movie of 2008, but while it looks on the surface like just another visual effects driven, high-concept, big budget blockbuster, there’s really a good dramatic story interwoven within it. And I think they were just scratching the surface of it in this film, hoping to go deeper into it with a sequel. But even if they never make another Jumper, I think this film stands on its own. When I first saw it, I liked it, but not enough to propel it ahead of most of the other movies in this list. But over repeated viewings, Jumper just really won me over. It kept getting better and better with each viewing. Director Doug Liman really brought a great team together for this project and it paid off. I’m hoping he’s able to do it again.

One thought on “Top 10 Movies of 2008

Leave a Reply

