Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of Fall 2011

For 20+ years, I’ve always eagerly looked forward to my annual edition of Entertainment Weekly’s Fall Movie Preview. And this year was no exception. I just finished reading the magazine’s buzz on 98 new films planned to be released in the remaining four months of 2011. The Fall movie season is the best in my opinion, since typically most of what end up being my Top 10 Movies of the year, tend to come out in these last 4 months. This year looks to be no different. I gotta say, this was a tough list this year since there were about 25 films vying for the top ten spots. One film that would definitely be on the list if it were certain that it was to be released this year is The Wettest County in the World. But alas, it wasn’t in EW’s issue and it has not officially been granted a release date for 2011. I’m still hoping it sneaks in though. But here are my Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of Fall 2011 as of right now:

10. Pearl Jam Twenty

 

As a big fan of Pearl Jam and their music since their epic beginning, I started feeling a bit nostalgic for the early years of Pearl Jam when I heard about this upcoming documentary from director Cameron Crowe. A great rock band and the writer/director of the ultimate rock band movie: Almost Famous (2000)…seems like a match made in heaven!

9. 50/50

 

It will be interesting to see if the numbers 5 and 0 bring good fortune to actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt again, like they did with 500 Days of Summer (2009). The concept for this film, along with what I’ve seen in the trailer, make it look like it has that magic combination of comedy and drama.

8. Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol

 

The real question is, can the fourth Mission: Impossible film finally live up to the quality of the first film? I’m hopeful with director Brad Bird behind the helm and actor Jeremy Renner on board. Plus the trailer looks pretty darn good!

7. Margin Call

 

It’s simply the trailer that got me so interested in this movie. But it definitely helps to have the amazing cast that it has.

6. Moneyball

 

I’m always a sucker for a GOOD sports movie. This one looks like it has the potential to be a good one with writer Aaron Sorkin and actors Brad Pitt and Philip Seymour Hoffman. The trailer has set my expectations high on this one.

(UPDATE 10/01/11:  Read my review of Moneyball)

5. Contagion

 

Director Steven Soderbergh. An amazing cast. A worldwide virus epidemic. This movie has the potential to be as good or better than Outbreak (1995), which is currently my favorite virus movie.

4. War Horse

 

Director Steven Spielberg with a story set during a war. Enough said. I just hope he doesn’t go too “sappy” and “sweet” with this film, as the trailer kind of implies. Nonetheless, I’m always highly anticipating a Steven Spielberg movie.

3. J. Edgar

There’s no poster and no trailer yet. But the teaming of director Clint Eastwood with actorLeonardo DiCaprio in a historically set biographical dramatic movie about the life of famous FBI man J. Edgar Hoover has me very curious. I’m also curious to see the work of writer Dustin Lance Black of Milk (2008) fame.

(UPDATE 10/10/11: Now there’s a poster and a trailer.)

 

2. In Time

 

Writer/Director Andrew Niccol so impressed me with Gattaca (1997) that I will probably forever anticipate his movies highly. But the concept of this story is so incredibly intriguing to me, and the cast of young actors so incredibly amazing, that this film has unbelievable expectations on my part. I only hope we get a lot more Gattaca than S1m0ne (2002) on this film. I’ll definitely be at the theater opening day for this one.

1. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

 

The trailer really speaks for itself as to why this is my #1 most anticipated movie of Fall 2011. It just barely squeaked ahead of In Time. And if the trailer, with it’s incredible remake of the classic Led Zeppelin “Immigrant Song” by Trent Reznor is not enough, I’ll just drop the name of the director: David Fincher. Come on…Se7en (1995), Fight Club (1999), and The Social Network (2010)? Is there any question about the potential greatness of this remake of the original Swedish film?

Other movies that were in contention for this Top 10 list include: Young Adult, The Ides of March, Martha Marcy May Marlene, Anonymous, The Descendants, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy, Immortals, We Bought A Zoo, A Dangerous Method, and In The Land of Blood and Honey.

This entry was posted in Movies, Top 10 Lists by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of Fall 2011

  1. Pingback: Margin Call | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

  2. Pingback: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011) | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

Leave a Reply

