Top 10 Movies of 1990

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

When 1990 rolled around, I was in the midst of high school. So my taste in movies at the time, was a bit different than now. But because I fell in love with some of the movies on this list, I can probably never shake them no matter how my taste evolves. And that’s ok! Initially when Dances With Wolves came out in 1990, I was bored with it and was too young to appreciate it. But over the years, with repeated viewings and dozens of times listening to the phenomenal music soundtrack by composer John Barry, I’ve really come to love the film. So much so, that it’s one of my Top 10 Movies of all time. It simply has all of the components of a great historical epic film. We really aren’t making many films like this right now. Which is a shame! But I have a feeling we’ll get back to more of them at some point. Actor/Director Kevin Costner won 2 Oscars for his western masterpiece, and he’s never matched the scope and scale since.

If you had asked me what was my #1 film back in 1990, I’m sure I would have said The Hunt For Red October. I have absolutely loved that movie since the first time I saw it in the theaters. And when they issued it on a red-colored VHS tape (remember that?!), it was cemented in my movie mind like no other. I wish I still had that original tape. Sean Connery, Alec Baldwin, Scott Glenn, Sam Neill, James Earl Jones, and the rest of the cast were superb, giving the end of the Cold War a perfect send-off.

I’m one of the few people who really likes Die Hard 2 almost as much as the original. I never tire of watching it. And come one…how can you not like Tom Cruise and Robert Duvall in Days of Thunder? “No, no, he didn’t slam you, he didn’t bump you, he didn’t nudge you… he *rubbed* you. And rubbin, son…is racin’.” The chemistry between those two guys is unforgettable!

While I’m sure I’ll take some heat for not having Goodfellas on the list, I am willing to concede that I should probably watch it again and see if it deserves to be here. But the few times I have seen it, I just haven’t fallen in love with it like so many others. The bottom line is that you can’t go wrong checking out any one of these ten films. They’re all great movies that have stood the test of time now for over 20 years and are continually revisited by me and millions of others. 1990 was the first year in an extremely strong decade for movies, that has yet to be matched again.

Other contenders for this list included Flatliners, Total Recall, Presumed Innocent, and Misery.

10.  The Russia House  (4 stars)

9.  Kindergarten Cop  (4 stars)

8.  Awakenings  (4.5 stars)

7.  Ghost   (4.5 stars)

6.  Back To The Future Part III  (5 stars)

5.  Pretty Woman  (5 stars)

4.  Die Hard 2: Die Harder  (5 stars)

3.  Days of Thunder  (5 stars)

2.  The Hunt For Red October  (5 stars)

1.  Dances With Wolves  (5 stars)

Leave a Reply

