Top 10 Movies of 1992

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

1992 brought a bunch of really good, solid movies that remind me why I love film as a medium for art AND entertainment. They cover a broad range of genres, each telling their story well with good writing, good acting, and just good all-around production values. While some might argue that My Cousin Vinny isn’t in the same caliber as the other 9 movies, it just always entertains me year after year. They play My Cousin Vinny all the time on cable, and I’ll always flip to it if its on just to get a dose of the fun that it provides. And yet as goofy as My Cousin Vinny is, it’s top notch in terms of writing and acting…proven by Marisa Tomei’s unbelievable win for the Best Supporting Actress Oscar from this year.

8 out of 11 of these  movies are in my current Top 100 Movies of all time. So that tells you how good of a year 1992 was for film (at least for me)! I would bet at least one of these movies is in your Top 100 movies of all time. If not, re-watch them all and see where they stand.

10.  My Cousin Vinny  (4.5 stars)

9.  School Ties  (4.5 stars)

8.  The Bodyguard  (5 stars)

7.  Patriot Games  (5 stars)

6.  Scent Of A Woman  (5 stars)

5.  A River Runs Through It  (5 stars)

4.  Unforgiven  (5 stars)

3.  Thunderheart  (5 stars)

2.  A Few Good Men  (5 stars)

1.  The Last Of The Mohicans  (5 stars)

There’s really no question that The Last of the Mohicans is my #1 movie of 1992. I’ve been absolutely enthralled with this soaring epic war & love story since the first time I heard its soundtrack (before even seeing the film), a year or two after the movie came out. The score from this movie is one of my Top 5 Soundtracks of all time, with Track #1 “Main Title” and Track #2 “Elk Hunt” on my list of songs to play at my funeral!! I hate to admit that I completely missed this movie in the theater…I was young, dumb, and full of ****…but I watched it on VHS and fell in love with it back in 1993/1994. Michael Mann absolutely hit the ball out of the park with this remake of the original 1920 film based on the novel by James Fenimore Cooper. It has EVERYTHING I want in a movie. I could probably find a flaw in it if I really looked hard enough, but I’m not sure I want to. And I’m sure I’d forgive it because this film is permanently etched into my heart. I mean come one…what guy out there doesn’t like this film??!! I recently purchased it on Blu-ray and will eventually review the film in all its detailed glory here on my blog. I will say that A Few Good Men and Thunderheart are also both more than worthy of being #1…if only they came out in other years where weaker films prevailed. Alas…nothing can topple The Last Of The Mohicans.

Leave a Reply

