The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011) – First Look

 

 

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011) has suddenly skyrocketed to the top of my list of the most anticipated movies of the year because of the release last week of the first trailer for Director David Fincher’s remake. The Tree Of Life (2011) is still my #1, at least until I see it next Friday, but The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is right behind it at #2. I first ran across the red-band European trailer for the film in a news article on IMDB.com…and on watching it, I was completely captivated!! Se7en-like visuals, an incredible Trent Reznor take on Led Zeppelin’s awesome “Immigrant Song”, and a perfectly edited trailer that tells me nothing, but entices me completely none-the-less. This is by far the best movie trailer of 2011 so far. It’s right up there with the trailers for Inception (2010), The Tree Of Life (2011), and the first trailer for Super 8 (2011) from last year. Fincher really knows how to craft a movie that one wants to see, whether it turns out to be incredible or not. I don’t love all of Fincher’s films, but the one’s I do, are some of my favorites of all time: Se7en (1995), Fight Club (1999), and The Social Network (2010).

There’s no question that Fincher is putting his filmmaking style and talent into this remake, along with his entire filmmaking team. I haven’t seen any of the original Swedish-versions of the Stieg Larsson trilogy movies, or read the books. So I’m really in the dark on the whole phenomena. And to be honest, I’d like to remain that way until December 21 when Fincher’s film comes out in theaters. I find more and more that a lot of times, it’s better if I go into a film knowing very little, just ready to take in the filmmaker’s story. A lot of people are disappointed that Fincher is making a remake so soon after the Swedish versions of the films have come out. But I think if a Director feels they can tell the story as well or better than the original film, then why not give them a shot at it? If it doesn’t work out, it will fall along the wayside. If it does work out, we as filmgoers reap the benefits!

One thing I’m certain of is that music composer Trent Reznor is a big part of why I’m captivated by the trailer to this movie. His work on The Social Network (2010) was interesting, unique, and brilliant…it helped make the movie engaging in a way that a more standard score wouldn’t have. And if his new version of Immigrant Song is a sign of what’s to come with the score for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, then I’m extremely excited to hear it and see it matched with the visuals and story of the film.

It will be interesting to see if the film lives up to my eager anticipation and hype for it in 7 months. But the trailer is a winner regardless!

This entry was posted in Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

4 thoughts on “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011) – First Look

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of Fall 2011 | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Movies of 2011 | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

  3. I’m extremely pleased to uncover this site. I wanted to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and i also have you book marked to see new things in your blog.

Leave a Reply

