Augustana – Steal Your Heart

 

Ever since I heard “Boston” off their first album (All the Stars and Boulevards), I’ve been a fan of rock band Augustana. They’re music just really connects with me emotionally. And their latest song “Steal Your Heart” (off their new self-titled album) is another great hit for me. The music video for this song is simply awesome! I’m always a sucker for “epic” outdoor landscape settings for movies, music videos, tv shows, photography, or whatever else. And the dry desert setting for Steal Your Heart is fantastic. The production design for this video is top notch and the photography is unbelievable. The first time I heard this song was while watching this video, so the visuals and music have been tied together for me from the beginning. I was actually attracted to checking this song out because of the still image for the video that Augustana posted on Facebook announcing the release of the song. So a single image is what GOT ME into this song, this video, and now this blog. Obviously the key to this whole shoot was the lighting, both natural and artificial. At the end of the day, photography is mostly about lighting, and the DP for this video clearly has a handle on lighting design.

Part of what I love about my blog concept (not to toot my own horn here, but…) is that I dissect a movie or a music video down to its core: it’s still images, its sound, its design, its story, etc. Movies and video are simply still images flashed in front of us in rapid procession. So if the still images that comprise the 24 or 30 images per second that we see moving are compelling in terms of their photography, then it follows that the movie or video should (or could) be as well. Especially if the sound reinforces and enhances the visuals. Just look at the 50 still images below and study them individually as well as together as a whole. These 50 images tell their own story (or stories). They communicate the emotions in the lyrics, music, and band members. And after watching the video, they remind me of the music and video. I can look at one of them and start playing the music in my head or seeing the video in my head. One image and I’m right back to the experience of the video. I really don’t have much else to say other than check out the video and the still photographs I’ve captured from it. And while you’re at it, check out Augustana’s other videos and their music.

 

Purchase music by Augustana on iTunes or Amazon.

This entry was posted in Music, Music Videos by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

Leave a Reply

