Going To New Mexico – First Look

 

A few weeks ago, my good friend Jackie Daum, an extremely talented singer/songwriter, came to Phoenix, Arizona to shoot a music video with me for her single “Going To New Mexico” from her debut album The Sky Inside. In the sample video clip above is a bit of raw video footage we shot while Jackie was in town. And below are a few still images from some of the other video footage we shot as well. We have about an hour of footage for this 4-5 minute video. Everything you see here was shot on my new Canon EOS 60D Digital SLR camera in full 1080p HD at 24 fps, using only the lighting available at the locations we shot at (natural and artificial). Some of it was shot handheld and some was shot on a tripod. To my surprise, the low lighting at the light rail station at night still gave us some incredible video footage. The 60D definitely has a very nice light sensor that captures a lot compared to the typical video camcorders and digital cameras out there. Of course I would have liked to have had some supplemental lighting from a light kit, but we didn’t have access to additional lights or power for them. This music video was shot “guerilla-style” with just Jackie and I…her in front of the camera and me behind the camera. Jackie was great at lip-syncing. We played her music on my iPod through my portable iPod speakers while we shot…which worked incredibly well!

I’m currently editing the music video and I hope to have it done in the next month or so for it’s worldwide debut. In the meantime, enjoy the sample video snippet and the few images here.

An extra image of Jackie while she was writing a new song at my place one afternoon:

Purchase music by Jackie at her website or through iTunes.

This entry was posted in Brad's Work, Music, Music Videos, Photography by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

2 thoughts on “Going To New Mexico – First Look

  1. Pingback: First Look at Going to New Mexico | Jackie Daum

  2. Pingback: Jackie Daum – Going To New Mexico | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

Leave a Reply

