Top 10 Heist Movies

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

Inspired by my listening today to last week’s Filmspotting podcast (check it out on iTunes) in which Adam Kempenaar and Matty Robinson revisited their Top 5 Heist Movies, I thought I’d put together a list of my own Top 10 Heist Movies. I’m defining “heist” as being films in which the plot centers around the stealing of something…most typically money from a bank, and most typically by a group of thieves (a great ensemble cast). But stealing ideas is just as much of a heist as stealing money…and Inception was at the top of the list for heist films since it was clearly a clever entry last year into the genre. Probably the three most surprising films on this list are the two Die Hard films and Beverly Hills Cop II, all three of which I probably would have missed off the top of my head. But do you remember what the plots are for these three films? They’re definitely heist movies!!

10.  The Italian Job (2003) – 3.5 stars  and  The Bank Job (2008) – 3.5 stars

9.  Ocean’s Eleven (2001) – 4 stars

8.  Die Hard: With A Vengeance (1995) – 4.5 stars

7.  Three Kings (1999) – 4.5 stars

6.  Beverly Hills Cop II (1987) – 5 stars

5.  The Town (2010) – 5 stars

4.  Point Break (1991) – 5 stars

3.  Die Hard (1988) – 5 stars

2.  Inception (2010) – 5 stars

1.  Heat (1995) – 5 stars

Is there really any surprise that Heat (1995) is my #1 heist film? It’s one of my Top 10 Movies of all time, so of course it tops a number of lists! And who can ever forget the aural delight during the bank heist shoot-out in downtown L.A. in Heat. Director Michael Mann absolutely blew me away with that scene and the entire movie for that matter when I saw it in the theater back in 1995. I still get chills whenever I see or hear a shootout scene…thinking of Heat.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Heist Movies

    • All the “alphabet crimes” that Axel Foley is investigating are heists. They rob a jewelry store, a bank depository, and a race track. I can see where Beverly Hills Cop II can be seen as not a heist movie since the lead character is not involved in a heist. But to me, it counts.

Leave a Reply

