Most Anticipated Movies of 2011

We’re already 2 months into 2011, but here are my picks for the most anticipated films I want to see in 2011. It looks already like there are a lot of potentially good films for this year, but you never know until they’re released. Two films that I can guarantee I’ll be in a theater seat on opening day for, are: The Tree Of Life and Now. It’s been 6 years since writer/director Terrence Malick’s last film, The New World (2005), and I am a diehard Malick fan. He’s simply one of the 10 Best Directors alive, even with his very short list of films. The Tree Of Life will be only his fifth film in a 40-year career. I’ve seen the other 4, which includes The Thin Red Line (1998), my favorite World War II movie of all time and one of my Top 10 Movies of all time. Ever since Gattaca (1997), I’ve been waiting for another great sci-fi/futuristic film from writer/director Andrew Niccol. The concept for Now sounds incredible and the cast is pretty damn good too! Not much is known at this time about the film, but I’m VERY psyched to see it.

MARCH:


The Adjustment Bureau – Could this be another great action/thriller film with Matt Damon like the Bourne movies? Not sure, but it looks like a cross between Mad Men and The Bourne Identity (2002). Both of which I love!


Limitless – The concept for this film looks very cool. Hopefully its execution lives up to its trailer, which has me intrigued.


The Lincoln Lawyer – It’s great to see Matthew McConaughey back as a lawyer after his incredible role in A Time To Kill (1996). Not sure if this film will be good or not. It’s borderline for me based on the trailer, but I’m curious.

APRIL:


Source Code – Definitely curious to see director Duncan Jones follow-up to Moon (2009). The trailer didn’t really grab me, but I’m curious.


The Conspirator – I’m always interested in a Robert Redford film, whether he’s in front of or behind the camera. In this case, he’s the director of this interesting looking film about the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln. I’m always a sucker for a well-made historical film or a courtroom film. Here we have both!


Water For Elephants – This is one of those films that will either be sappy crap or Oscar-bait. It could go either way, but the trailer got me interested.

MAY:


The Tree Of Life – Director Terrence Malick’s 5th Film. If that’s not enough, you haven’t seen The Thin Red Line (1998). So watch the perfect Criterion Blu-ray release of the film.

JUNE:


Super 8 – Director J.J. Abrams and a kickass teaser trailer. The newest trailer actually made me question the potential greatest of this film. But I’m still very curious.

JULY:


Friends With BenefitsJustin Timberlake and Mila Kunis…it could be a good follow-up by director Will Gluck to last year’s decent Easy A (2010).

SEPTEMBER:

Moneyball – Writer Aaron Sorkin and actor Brad Pitt…enough said.

OCTOBER:

Contagion – Writer/director Steven Soderbergh and actor Matt Damon. I love virus outbreak movies and this one sounds like it could be the next Outbreak (1995) or The Andromeda Strain (2008).

Now – Writer/Director Andrew Niccol brings this incredible sounding concept about “buying eternal youth” to the screen with an incredible cast starring: Justin Timberlake, Cillian Murphy, Alex Pettyfer, Olivia Wilde, Matthew Bomer, and Amanda Seyfried. Talk about the who’s who of young Hollywood talent right now!

NOVEMBER:

Immortals – Director Tarsem Singh’s follow-up to The Fall (2006) and The Cell (2000). I can guarantee this film will visually look interesting. It’s got Henry Cavill (the new Superman) and Mickey Rourke.

DECEMBER:

Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol – All I can do is hope that they get it right this time, on their 4th effort, like they did with the first Mission: Impossible (1996).

The Girl With The Dragon Tatoo – Anything by director David Fincher interests me.

We Bought A Zoo – Writer/Director Cameron Crowe got me hooked on his work with Jerry Maguire (1996) and Almost Famous (2000), so I’m always interested in his next film.

War Horse – Director Steven Spielberg giving us a war movie. No question I’m interested!!

This entry was posted in Movies, Top 10 Lists by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

One thought on “Most Anticipated Movies of 2011

  1. Pingback: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011) – First Look « BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

Leave a Reply

