An Education

FILM RATING:  2.5 stars

I recently watched the film An Education (2009) on the Starz Channel in HD. I wish I could say I connected with it, because its a very well made film, but unfortunately the story just didn’t appeal to me. It’s basically a coming-of-age story about a 16-year old British girl in the 1960s. It just wasn’t an interesting enough story for me. I give the film 2.5 out of 5 stars, because it has beautiful cinematography, good acting, great production design, and solid music. For those that connect with the story, you’ll probably rate this film higher. I heard about An Education through the end-of-year awards pipeline back in 2009. It was nominated for 3 Oscars, including Best Picture. Actor Carey Mulligan leads the strong supporting cast and her role in this film led to her roles in Never Let Me Go (2010) and Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps (2010), where she shines even more so than here in my opinion. A similar but better recent coming-of-age story from a similar time period is Nowhere Boy (2010), starring Aaron Johnson as the young John Lennon before The Beatles. I highly suggest you “guys” watch that one instead of An Education. For you “ladies”, An Education may just be your cup of tea.

This entry was posted in 2.5 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

Leave a Reply

