Top 10 Movies of 1997

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

1997 is one of those years where there are a handful of truly outstanding films that really stand out from other years as well as the rest of the films from their own year. My top 5 films of 1997 are all in my Top 100 Films of all time and really stand above the bottom 5 films. I actually struggled to fill slot #10. While Titanic was the financial, critical, and popular winner of the year, winning the worldwide box office like no film before it. Over the past decade plus, I’ve watched these top 5 films over and over multiple times. And for me, Good Will Hunting is the one film out of the 5 that just hits that magic place in my heart over and over again. Same with the other 4, but if I had to pick only one film out of the 5 that I could take with me on a trip to the Moon, it would be Good Will Hunting. It’s a personal story that just connected with me as a young man at the time it came out and it still connects with me to this day. The bottom line is that it’s actually nice to have so much “trouble” picking a #1 film from 1997. While you might pick one of the other 4 films at the top, the likelihood is that your #1 is within this list.

10.  L.A. Confidential  (3.5 stars)

9.  Dante’s Peak  (3.5 stars)

8.  Air Force One  (4 stars)

7.  Kiss The Girls  (4 stars)

6.  Donnie Brasco  (4 stars)

5.  Gattaca  (5 stars)

4.  Titanic  (5 stars)

3.  Seven Years In Tibet  (5 stars)

2.  Contact  (5 stars)

1.  Good Will Hunting  (5 stars)

Leave a Reply

