Top 10 Movies of 1999

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

This is the first post in my new series of Top 10 Movies for each year of the 1980’s, 1990’s, and 2000’s. I’m starting with 1999 and going backwards to 1980 because I think I’ve seen most of the acclaimed, popular, and “best” movies from those two decades. I’m still catching up on movies from the 2000’s and will hopefully be better equipped to chose the movies for those years by the time I get to those posts. The early 80’s may be a bit lean for me too, considering I was just a kid. If you think I’m missing an important movie in my Top 10 for a year, leave me a comment and let me know, so I can either reconsider it or get a push to watch it. And if you haven’t seen any of the ten movies in a year, give them a viewing!

10.  Eyes Wide Shut  (4 stars)

9.  October Sky  (4 stars)

8.  The Sixth Sense  (4 stars)

7.  Snow Falling On Cedars  (4 stars)

6.  Three Kings  (4.5 stars)

5.  American Beauty  (4.5 stars)

4.  The Talented Mr. Ripley  (5 stars)

3.  Fight Club  (5 stars)

2.  The Matrix  (5 stars)

1.  The Insider  (5 stars)

It’s tough choosing a #1 film out of this mix of 10 great movies, but over the past decade of viewing these films at least several times each, The Insider and The Matrix have really held up for me under repeated viewings as the best of the pack. The Matrix was certainly profound in its story and its filmmaking craft that changed the industry in terms of visual effects. However, those two sequels to The Matrix stripped away some of the shine from the original film for me, and I still have a hard time not viewing the original Matrix as a bit cheesy in light of the sequels. Still, it seems worthy of being high on the list. But Michael Mann’s opus to whistle blowers was underrated when it came out and still is. It’s amazing how Mann took what would seem like a boring movie story and crafted it into a cinematic masterpiece of writing, editing, and acting. I never tire of repeatedly watching The Insider year after year. And that to me is the true test of a #1 film for any given year. How does it hold up in the many years after it is released? Do you watch it over and over, or was it a one-time wonder?

Leave a Reply

