Cairo Time

FILM RATING:  3 stars

It’s rare that a good adult love story, like Cairo Time (2010), is rated PG. And yet I never missed any of the words or sexual content that would normally accompany such a film and give it a PG-13 or R rating. Just one casual F-word gives you a PG-13. But it wasn’t “needed” in this movie. Cairo Time is an unbelievably fresh, yet classic film that surprised the hell…scratch that…heck out of me. Don’t wanna tarnish that PG rating with my review! There’s really not all that much I’m going to say about this film because I think it’s a simple film that’s better to just watch and enjoy. There’s nothing surprising here, no twists or turns in the plot, just a nice tale of the possibility of love between two people. The photography, sets, and locations are fantastic. Shot entirely on location in Cairo, Egypt, this film simply sparkles. The pyramids are incredible. And Patrician Clarkson and Alexander Siddig are simply spectacular in their acting. Classic! Or at least as I imagine “classic” to be. I wouldn’t say that this is a great film that will reside in my library and be watched over and over throughout the years. But I wouldn’t be surprised if I revisit it down the road. I give it 3 stars out of 5. And I give both actors 4 stars out of 5 for their performances. Without the two of them, and the subtle yet seductive chemistry between them, there would be no movie here. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in 3 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

Leave a Reply

