The #1 Movies of the 1990s

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

My #1 Films for each year of the 1990s. This was the best decade for film I’ve seen so far in my lifetime.

1990:  Dances With Wolves  (5 stars)

1991:  Terminator 2: Judgment Day  (5 stars)

1992:  The Last of the Mohicans  (5 stars)

1993:  Jurassic Park  (5 stars)

1994:  Legends of the Fall  (5 stars)

1995:  Heat  (5 stars)  and  Se7en  (5 stars)

1996:  Jerry Maguire  (5 stars)

1997:  Good Will Hunting  (5 stars)

1998:  The Thin Red Line  (5 stars)

1999:  The Insider  (5 stars)

All of the #1 films from this decade are from my list of the Top 100 movies of all time. 1995 was a competitive year, and one of the best year’s in film during my lifetime! I just couldn’t pick Heat over Se7en…they are both in my Top 10. And what about Braveheart, you ask? 1995 has 3 of my all time favorite films, Braveheart being the third after Heat and Se7en. To be honest, any one of those films deserves to be #1 for 1995. Braveheart was chosen by the Academy for the Best Picture Oscar, but Heat and Se7en are just as good, even though the Academy overlooked them almost completely. Oh well…It’s a great problem to have!

This entry was posted in 5 star movies, Movies, Top 10 Lists by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

Leave a Reply

