The #1 Movies of the 1980s

(Updated on February 11, 2012)

My #1 Films for each year of the 1980s. This is the decade when I started forming my love for movies. I was 6 at the beginning of the decade and 17 at the end of it. Some of the films I’m listing as #1 now weren’t that way at the time. I saw them as a young adult in the 90s and appreciated them after the decade. But no one forgets the movies they fell in love with in their teens either. That’s when we started going to movies by ourselves…with our friends, on dates, and by ourselves. That’s when we started having our own opinions and ideas about movies. And that’s when we started to find ourselves…and its reflected in our favorite films. Feel the nostalgia as you look at this list of great movies. Or watch the movies for the first time.

1980:  Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back  (5 stars)

1981:  Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark  (5 stars)

1982:  Star Trek II: The Wrath of Kahn  (5 stars)

1983:  Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi  (5 stars)
(I saw this movie on opening day…twice, back-to-back, at the old Orpheum Theater in downtown Madison, Wisconsin)

1984:  2010: The Year We Make Contact  (5 stars)
(Ghostbusters was #1 to me at the time…but I was 10 years old!)

1985:  Back to the Future  (5 stars)

1986:  Top Gun  (5 stars)
(Hoosiers is a VERY close 2nd)

1987:  Predator  (5 stars)
(the first Rated R movie I fell in love with…and Schwarzenegger’s best film)

1988:  Die Hard  (5 stars)

1989:  Field of Dreams  (5 stars)  and  Dead Poets Society  (5 stars)
(Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade was #1 to me at the time and is a VERY close 3rd)

All of the #1 films from this decade are from my list of the Top 100 movies of all time. 1989 was a competitive year! I saw both Dead Poets Society and Indiana Jones in the theater. I think I saw Indiana Jones two or three times in the theater, I loved it so much! Because both Field of Dreams and Dead Poets Society are in my Top 10 Films of all time, I can’t really pick one over the other. They both meant so much to me at the time and mean so much to me now.

This entry was posted in 5 star movies, Movies, Top 10 Lists by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

Leave a Reply

