Vicky Cristina Barcelona

MOVIE RATING:  3.5 stars (B)

(Updated May 25, 2012)

Woody Allen’s recent relationship movie with Javier Bardem, Penelope Cruz, Rebecca Hall, and Scarlett Johansson was a nice surprise. I’m not a Woody Allen fan, but occasionally he crafts a movie that appeals to me. Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008) is one of those films, along with Match Point (2005). Both films get 3.5 out of 5 stars from me. I think what I really liked about Vicky Cristina Barcelona was the complexity and absurdity of the love triangles between the main characters. From my point of view and experience, Allen does a great job of capturing the craziness that can come with love triangles and relationships in general. Relationships are messy and undefined at times, especially in the early stages. All of the actors in this film have spectacular chemistry with each other and it really comes through in their performances throughout the film.

Of course you can’t beat the setting in Spain for the film. The golden saturated cinematography is very pleasing to look at. You feel like you’re on a European summer vacation while watching the film (as the still images below showcase). I even felt a little sun-burned at the end of the film! What Woody Allen specializes in is movies about people and their interactions with each other. This is definitely an “adult” movie in terms of its topic…it probably wouldn’t interest anyone under 30. I never would have watched this film 5-10 years ago, but now that I’m in my 30s, I find myself interested in social dynamics, relationships, romance and love. Check this movie out for an easy going tale that feels like you’re sipping a fine wine with friends on the patio.

 

Check out details on this film and its excellent Blu-ray presentation at Blu-ray.com.

This entry was posted in 3.5 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

One thought on “Vicky Cristina Barcelona

  1. match point & VCB are 2 of my favorite movies since they came out! love woody allen films. i would never think they were for over 30’s.. i was 17 & 20.

Leave a Reply

