Lions For Lambs

FILM RATING: 3 stars

Lions For Lambs (2007) was a movie I was anxious to see when I heard about it several years ago before it was released. But then it got bad reviews and I shifted it to my DVDs To Watch list. Finally getting around to it recently, I felt the movie was average (3 stars out of 5). I have enormous respect for Robert Redford and love many of his movies, but this was not one of his better efforts in my opinion. I think the script lacked emotional connection and originality. It was too dry and journalistic for my taste. I do think the acting was good by the supporting cast, but headliners Robert Redford, Tom Cruise and Meryl Streep were all lacking in their performances…and they were the main reasons I was attracted to this movie originally. Cruise simply plays a character that doesn’t fit him and it showed. He’s stiff and unbelievable in his role as a Republican Senator. Same with Streep as a news reporter I think. And while Redford’s teacher did fit him, he simply didn’t have enough good scenes and enough depth within the overall story to make up for the rest. The best scenes in the movie are with him and Andrew Garfield (the new Spider-Man), so I recommend watching the movie simply for those scenes.

While some would argue that the reason this movie fails is because of its liberal political bias, I didn’t find that to be a problem for me. I think the story was simply not developed enough and not executed in a way to make it connect with its viewers. Technically the movie feels and looks fine, as you can see in the still images below. It’s another movie that I’m glad to have seen, but probably won’t watch again…at least not in the near future.

This entry was posted in 3 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

One thought on “Lions For Lambs

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Actresses | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

Leave a Reply

