Nights in Rodanthe

MOVIE RATING:  3.5 stars (B)

(Updated May 25, 2012)

Nicholas Sparks seems to have a magic touch for writing stories and characters that connect emotionally with those of us who love a good romantic tale. I think the reason I connected with Nights In Rodanthe (2008) is because, like The Notebook (2004), this is a story where there’s no “happy ending” with two people falling in love and living happily ever after. But you still feel good about the ending, because the two people did fall in love. Director Nick Cassavetes did a great job of turning this book into a good movie. I haven’t read the book, so I don’t have the usual hang-up of “the book was so much better than the movie.” I just know that I like Richard Gere and I love Diane Lane. The chemistry between them is perfect in this movie. The setting is gorgeous. Gere has a kickass car. And the photography is stunning! The bedroom scene between Gere and Lane is incredibly shot. The blue and white colors and the lighting are fantastic! This movie surprised me because I didn’t expect to like it. But that’s the beauty of a good movie…it just pulls you in.

Check out details on this film and its excellent Blu-ray presentation at Blu-ray.com.

This entry was posted in 3.5 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

3 thoughts on “Nights in Rodanthe

  1. Pingback: Dear John « blackboxBLUE

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Actresses | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Movies of 2008 | The BLACKBOXBLUE Blog

Leave a Reply

