The International

FILM RATING: 3.5 stars

This movie surprised me. It was better than I expected! I don’t even remember much about the press for The International (2009) when it came out early last year. But I love this movie poster design. Of course I’m biased as an architect to anything with Frank Lloyd Wright’s Guggenheim Museum from New York City on it. The clean and simple graphics and layout of this poster grab me. It’s nice to see a poster WITHOUT a close-up of an actor’s face for a change.

This movie is basically an action/thriller/drama in the vein of the recent James Bond movies with Daniel Craig, The Bourne movies, and a mix of other films from the 2000s. It’s got a lot of influences in it IMO.  The pace of the film is pretty steady, with some action scenes revving it up, but mostly it just goes along in a rhythm. The shooting scenes in the Guggenheim are spectacular and remind me of the shoot out in downtown LA during the bank robbery in Michael Mann’s epic film Heat (1995), one of my Top 5 films of all time btw. I would love to know how they got the Guggenheim to allow them to film there, and then shoot it all up! They must have needed some renovations and got a big check from the studio.

I think what I liked best about this film were the locations and the photography. The acting was decent, but a little flat emotionally.  Nothing Oscar-worthy here. The architecture at the locations is incredible, and the attention to set design detail is like any great minimalistic piece of architecture. While there is nothing cutting edge or unusual about the photography, it’s just so well done. Same with the editing. I give the film 3.5 out of 5 stars…a good solid film.  But not making my Top 200 list. Definitely check it out, especially if you dig any of these stills from the film below. I really love ’em all!

This entry was posted in 3.5 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

Leave a Reply

