2012 (The Movie)

FILM RATING: 3 stars

One genre of movies that seems to keep growing every year is the disaster/apocalypse genre. I think this genre is so popular in Hollywood as well as with the public because this is where a lot of the summer blockbuster movies come in. Who doesn’t like seeing stuff blown up or destroyed, right?! Disaster flicks usually have lots of special effects too (whether old school movie magic or new school cgi). And a lot of people currently seem to be obsessed with technology. I for one always start at the same place with a movie…THE STORY. Am I interested in the story? Does the story have a plot? Is the plot any good? And do the characters interest me? IF I can answer yes to at least one of these questions (if not all), THEN I get interested in seeing the movie. Of course the trailer is where you get a sneak peak and see if you can answer one of those questions.

2012 always seemed like a rip-off of Armageddon (1998) and Deep Impact (1998) to me since I first saw the trailer. Both of those movies were inspired by the year 2000 as it approached and the supposed end of the world with that year. And 2012 is out in preparation for the end of the world again in 2012 according to Mayan lore. The trailer did look interesting visually, so I decided to watch the movie recently since it came out on HBO or Starz (I can’t remember which). I was pleasantly surprised that the movie was pretty good. I give it 3 out 5 stars. I felt it dragged on a little bit at 2-1/2 hours, but I kept getting pulled back into the story and the characters. Director Roland Emmerich is probably most famous for Independence Day (1996), also dipping its toes in the disaster genre, but from an alien/sci-fi perspective. And I think ID4 (as it is also known) is the better of the two movies. It has better actors…and I think aliens as the enemy instead of the calendar is a better premise. But I will say the cgi effects are good in 2012. Check out some stills:

This entry was posted in 3 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

One thought on “2012 (The Movie)

  1. Pingback: Frozen River « blackboxBLUE

Leave a Reply

