The Wrestler

FILM RATING: 3.5 stars

I watched The Wrestler (2008) starring Mickey Rourke, Marisa Tomei, and Evan Rachel Wood recently.  Directed by Darren Aronofsky, this little indie film ended up becoming the comeback vehicle for actor Mickey Rourke.  He deservedly won a Golden Globe for his performance.  I thought the film was a great character study, specifically about a broken man who has made a lot of mistakes in his life, but who loves what he does, even though it is basically killing him and ruining him.  The movie is filled with phenomenal acting and Rourke certainly deserved his Oscar Nomination and Golden Globe win for Best Actor.  And I think Marisa Tomei earned the respect of those who doubted her for winning Best Supporting Actress in My Cousin Vinny (1992).  I must admit, as much as I love My Cousin Vinny, I too am still surprised at her Oscar win for that performance.  I still remember being completely shocked when they announced her name as the winner at that Oscar telecast.  The only other shock that surprised me more at the Oscars is when Saving Private Ryan (1998) lost the Best Picture award to Shakespeare In Love (1998).  I’m still pissed off about that upset…which I think I’ve mentioned on this blog before!

Check out The Wrestler…it’s definitely worth viewing.  And of course some of the cinematography is great.  If you haven’t picked up on my “photographic eye” by now, you haven’t read very many of my blog posts.  I love sharing still images (and posters) from the movies with the intent that you will be inspired to see the film (as I so often am) simply from great images or great poster designs.

This entry was posted in 3.5 star movies, Movies by Brad Swenson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brad Swenson

Appreciating and contributing to the art and craft of movies, television, videos, and photography is my daily mission in life. My canvas for expression is emotion. I'm driven to discover and share interesting stories about people, their actions, their thoughts, their feelings, their work, and their contributions to the web of life.

One thought on “The Wrestler

  1. Pingback: Black Swan « BLACKBOXBLUE Film+Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

